The 2019 Instant View contest is over. View results
The Instant View Editor uses a three-column layout, so you really want to use it on a desktop screen that's wide enough. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Back to the main page »

Original

Preview

Link Preview

Issue #3

Using the time from the source article without any timezone conversion is just plain wrong.
The article metadata contains two conflicting times:

08:28:14 UTC+2 (06:28:14 UTC) resulting from either:
//meta[@itemprop="datePublished"]/@content
or:
//time[@itemprop="datePublished"]/@datetime

10:28:14 UTC+2 (08:28:14 UTC) obtained via:
//meta[@property="article:published_time"]/@content

Issue #1 of template #11 explains why the latter is the correct one.

Then this template shows 10:28 UTC, that was even yet to pass as I started writing this. But I don't think they used a time machine.

"If conflicting dates are stored in multiple places on the source page, preference should be given to the time that is visible to the ordinary user who views the page in a browser."

Yes, the time that is visible to the user is 10:28. But it is obviously displayed according to the Greek timezone. Therefore, when shown in the IV preview (always UTC) it should read 08:28. Remember that "It is possible for a perfect template to dis
Deleted Account
it is optional.
Please see this issue which was declined by admins
https://instantview.telegram.org/contest/lamianow.gr/template1/issue4/
Also checklist said that
If conflicting dates are stored in multiple places on the source page, preference should be given to the time that is visible to the ordinary user who views the page in a browser.
Declined by admin
Dario, thank you for the explanation of you position. It's also correct, but handling of timezone is optional and up to the template creator.
Type of issue
IV page is missing essential content
Reported
Feb 13 at 10:45 AM